4.40 File Manager Minimizes Results Window

English support for the software AllDup
Post Reply
therube
Posts: 189
Joined: 07 Nov 2012, 00:28

4.40 File Manager Minimizes Results Window

Post by therube » 30 Jul 2019, 00:20

AllDup 4.40
XP
Win10x64 1809


Often, most times (at least on my end), when you open File Manager (to delete...) it "Minimizes" the Results Window, so some "other" window ends up being its' "background" rather then the AllDup Results Window.

After finishing with the File Manager dialog, the AllDup Results window then pops back up.


Behavior is different (& wrong, IMO) from 4.31.


(You don't even actually need to delete anything. Just open File Manager & you should see the behavior. Then you can simply hit 'Cancel' & see the Results window pop back up.)

AllDup 440 File Manager minimizes Results list.png

User avatar
Administrator
Site Admin
Posts: 3509
Joined: 04 Oct 2004, 18:38
Location: Thailand
Contact:

Re: 4.40 File Manager Minimizes Results Window

Post by Administrator » 30 Jul 2019, 09:57

Yes, the behavior of the file manager window is different since 4.4 but why is it wrong?

therube
Posts: 189
Joined: 07 Nov 2012, 00:28

Re: 4.40 File Manager Minimizes Results Window

Post by therube » 30 Jul 2019, 20:02

Because. Because it is wrong ;-).

Because relationship from the operation at hand is diverted.
As it is, when File Manager is opened, something else becomes background to that window.

In my screenshot, that something happened to be the post I was writing.
But it could have been anything at all, arbitrarily, & I don't really want my thoughts diverted from the task at hand - in particular at a time when I'm going to be deleting files. I want to realize what I'm about to do is correct. Having the Results List as background gives me at least some context.

If a picture of my girlfriend that I happened to have had opened was suddenly in the background, well that's certainly going to divert my attention.

mz1888
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Jul 2019, 14:00

Re: 4.40 File Manager Minimizes Results Window

Post by mz1888 » 08 Aug 2019, 04:51

After opening the delete menu, the App will hide the result window and there's no way to show it again...the only way is to close delete menu. But if you close it, the delete menu won't remember your planned action(s) and you'd second guess your actions by staring at the monitor.

Either make delete menu to remember the checkboxes without having to delete anything, or just allow the result menu to show would instill some confidence when performing the deletion.

Post Reply